The love for souvenirs 

While I was in Cancun and I visited the archeological spots, there were many little markets selling souvenirs, clothes, artesanias and many more countless things. 


I’m in love With all the vibrant colors that surround these markets and the originality of some of the items that are being sold. I even found a little Santa Claus in an alebrije form, and it was the cutest thing ever. Some of the tips that you can follow to negotiate with the sellers are:

  • If you are buying alot of stuff, try to negotiate a price that is of your convenience, most times they will agree in a cheaper price for all the souvenirs that you are taking. But do not abuse on the negotiation and be fair because what they earn from these souvenirs (most of them hand crafted) are their source of income for a living. 
  • Try to look for the items in different markets. All markets sell mostly the same things and some are cheaper or cost more, it is up to you to look for the cheapest offer so you do not pay to much for it. 
  • Try to buy souvenirs outside of hotels. I bought everything at Tulum and Chichen-itza and I do not regret doing that. Most hotels will  take advantage of prices because some people do not go out of an all-inclusive and decide to buy souvenirs at the hotel. The skulls below I bought at $60 pesos at Chichen-itza and I checked them out at the hotel and cost $120 pesos, that is double the price for a skull. 


I bought these little guys and other 4 or 5 of them to give them as gifts to my family. I also bought magnets and I could not leave without that Santa Claus so I purchased it also. 

My sister bought pieces of jewerly for herself at a good price and some little hand-crafted pyramids to bring for family also. 

Merci, 

Thank you,

Muchas Gracias!! 

Leave a Reply

