Cancún, 2016 |Coba| 

2. Cobá. 

(Notice that I am the small point at the top of the pyramid)

Another mayan city located one hour away from Chichén- Itzá. It is one of the few places where you can still climb pyramids and the biggest one, Nohoch Mul, gives you a wonderful view once you are at the top.

This is a magical place located at the “heart of the jungle” that will catch your breath with all the constructions, the vegetation and animals that are inside Cobá. 

I went there the same day I went to Chichén-Itzá so I was a little late. These places close at 5 pm and we arrived 4:30. Luckily for us they have extended passes that are scheduled from 5 pm to 7 pm. They are a little more expensive than the normal passes but I really recommend for you to go extended because of the next reasons:

– the sun is not an issue anymore because it is almost night.

– in my case, I had the pyramids all to myself with no one else on top of them (which is great for pictures)

– having it all to yourself makes you enjoy it 1000 times more.

– there are more sightings of birds and animals because everything is alone. 

Make sure you look for blue birds at the top of Nohoch Mul (the biggest pyramid) because they are something you need to see. Beautiful, exotic birds. I was not able to get a picture of them because when I got to the top of the pyramid they flew away and I did not have my camera with me. But I can guarantee that you have never seen such beautiful birds. 

Leave a Reply

